BFA Exhibition 2020

2020 BFA Exhibition–a virtual show honoring the graduating class.

On view May 15 through June 20, 2020

Through the years, the places SFAI holds dear have often been outside of the “gallery” spaces, and instead within the spaces where we congregate and commune. Whether that is next to the fountain, under the tower or in the meadow. This year, we wanted to honor the graduating BFA cohort with a nod to nostalgia and a sentiment to the longing we are all feeling as we are forced apart.

We invite you to view this exhibition showcasing their works by delving into the three rooms below. These three rooms, named after SFAI’s Chestnut Campus’ meeting spaces (fountain, meadow and tower), are organized alphabetically by the artists’ last names per the lists below. Explore the artist’s cards and each room’s collective image gallery, discover more of the artists’ work by clicking through to their individual websites and social media, and build new connections with this new generation of unparalleled artists. And join us in congratulating the graduating class of 2020!

 

THE FOUNTAIN GALLERY 

Shaikha Waleed Al Salman, Hector Barajas, Josefina Beto, Gregory Blanche, Cardamom Bloom, Danette Bouzanquet, Sam Burghout, Hongzhu Chen, Alexander Dungan, Alex Ehmer, Delaina Engberg, Julia Fairbrother, Blythe Feeney, Ben Gasta, Weike Gong, Samantha Gripe, Kamal Jahi, Tianhu Kang, Minjun Kim

THE MEADOW GALLERY 

Kira Kishi, Anton Kuehnhackl, Sanghun Lee, Yi-Hsuan Lee, Ning Liu, Yuying Lily Lyu, Nivedita Madigubba, Michael Martinez, Mabel Meza, Hannah Modesitt, Nona Morales, Trevor Murphy, Lennart Nelson, Hannah Fhaye Oliver, Seraphina Lorenz Perkins, Kaycee Phillips, Anguo Ping, Alex Rodriguez

THE TOWER GALLERY 

Michael Sarago, William Schempf, Jusun Seo, Qi Shen, You Jin Sim, Robert Singer, Ami Sioux, Ellen Strecker, Nikos Sueuga, Vivian Vivas, Kristin Walker, Si Dong Wang, David Welch,  Isabelle Wilhelm, Jinming Ye, Grace Young, Eric Zhang

View the BFA Graduates 3-D Virtual Group Show



Past Events

PhotoAlliance
Friday, Mar 15, 2019
7:30PM
See More »
Online Exhibition and Unveiling Ceremony
Friday, Oct 9, 2020
3:00PM - 4:00PM
See More »
FIGURE 8
Thursday, Jun 18, 2020 - Friday, Jul 31, 2020
See More »
Commencement Ceremony 2020
Saturday, May 16, 2020
2:00PM
See More »
BA + MA Symposium
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
10:00AM - 5:30PM
See More »
POSTPONED: Yoshua Okón: In the Land of Ownership
Wednesday, Apr 29, 2020
4:30PM - 6:00PM
See More »
POSTPONED: Media Art: Defining a Field
Thursday, Apr 23, 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
See More »
VIRTUAL Graduate Open House + Open Studios
Saturday, Apr 18, 2020
11:00AM - 2:00PM
See More »
April Undergraduate Virtual Q&A Sessions
Saturday, Apr 11, 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
See More »
April Graduate Virtual Q&A Sessions
Tuesday, Apr 7, 2020
10:00AM - 6:00PM
See More »
VIRTUAL Undergraduate Welcome Day
Saturday, Apr 4, 2020
10:00AM - 2:00PM
See More »
CANCELED: Ana Teresa Fernández + Creativity Explored at SFAI
Thursday, Apr 2, 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
See More »
POSTPONED: Then & Now: A Legacy of Filmmaking at SFAI (Panel Discussion)
Saturday, Mar 28, 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
See More »
POSTPONED: Spring Student + Alumni Film Festival
Saturday, Mar 28, 2020 - Sunday, Mar 29, 2020
See More »
POSTPONED: Whitney Lynn: Hole in Your Hand
Friday, Mar 27, 2020
4:30PM - 6:00PM
See More »
CANCELED: Closing Reception: Soiled Matter
Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020
4:30PM
See More »
Jefferson Pinder and Conrad Meyers in Conversation (Virtual Experience)
Friday, Mar 13, 2020
6:00PM - 7:30PM
See More »
CANCELED: Soiled Matter
Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 - Thursday, Mar 26, 2020
See More »
Opening Reception: Living in Memory
Tuesday, Mar 10, 2020
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Living in Memory
Sunday, Mar 8, 2020 - Saturday, Mar 14, 2020
See More »
CANCELED: Opening Reception: Of Here From There | De Aquí Desde Allá
Friday, Mar 6, 2020
6:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
CLOSED: Of Here From There | De Aquí Desde Allá
Friday, Mar 6, 2020 - Sunday, Apr 26, 2020
See More »
Opening Reception: WHAT LIES BETWEEN
Friday, Feb 28, 2020
4:30PM
See More »
Closing Reception: The Sistine Barn
Friday, Feb 28, 2020
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
WHAT LIES BETWEEN
Friday, Feb 28, 2020 - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2020
See More »
Opening Reception: Poetry as Critical Form
Tuesday, Feb 25, 2020
5:00PM - 8:00PM
See More »
Poetry as Critical Form
Sunday, Feb 23, 2020 - Saturday, Feb 29, 2020
See More »
February Undergraduate Virtual Q&A Sessions
Saturday, Feb 22, 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
See More »
Lawrence Weschler: The Fraught Crossroads
Thursday, Feb 20, 2020
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Amalgamation
Tuesday, Feb 18, 2020
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
The Sistine Barn
Tuesday, Feb 18, 2020 - Wednesday, Mar 4, 2020
See More »
February Graduate Virtual Q&A Sessions
Tuesday, Feb 18, 2020
10:00AM - 6:00PM
See More »
Amalgamation
Sunday, Feb 16, 2020 - Saturday, Feb 22, 2020
See More »
Opening Reception: Photography Without Camera - Machine Gaze
Friday, Feb 14, 2020
4:30PM - 7:30PM
See More »
Opening Reception: D-ARK: Tower, Black Boxes
Friday, Feb 14, 2020
4:30PM
See More »
Alumni Mixer in Chicago
Thursday, Feb 13, 2020
5:00PM - 8:00PM
See More »
Photography Without Camera - Machine Gaze
Thursday, Feb 13, 2020 - Tuesday, Feb 25, 2020
See More »
D-ARK: Tower, Black Boxes
Thursday, Feb 13, 2020 - Wednesday, Feb 26, 2020
See More »
Opening Reception: Side of ranch
Tuesday, Feb 11, 2020
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Side of ranch
Sunday, Feb 9, 2020 - Sunday, Feb 16, 2020
See More »
Opening Reception: Confrontation/Submission/Resistance
Friday, Feb 7, 2020
6:30PM - 8:30PM
See More »
Thomas Chung: Death Threats, Indigenous Knowledge + Cheetos
Friday, Feb 7, 2020
4:30PM - 6:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Essence
Monday, Feb 3, 2020 - Tuesday, Feb 4, 2020
See More »
Essence
Monday, Feb 3, 2020 - Saturday, Feb 8, 2020
See More »
Heavy Breathing: Trans Boxing Lecture + Workshop
Saturday, Feb 1, 2020
2:00PM - 4:00PM
See More »
Confrontation / Submission / Resistance
Saturday, Feb 1, 2020 - Sunday, Feb 16, 2020
See More »
Opening Reception: Eden, all the Butterflies Cried a Thousand Times
Friday, Jan 31, 2020
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Of Illogics + Rhythms
Friday, Jan 31, 2020
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Eden, all the Butterflies Cried a Thousand Times
Friday, Jan 31, 2020 - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2020
See More »
Of Illogics + Rhythms
Friday, Jan 31, 2020 - Tuesday, Feb 11, 2020
See More »
January Undergraduate Virtual Q&A Sessions
Saturday, Jan 18, 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
See More »
Homo Sapiens Kybernetiké
Friday, Jan 17, 2020 - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2020
See More »
Generative Geography: Postcommodity Takes on Millennium Tower
Friday, Jan 17, 2020
2:00PM - 4:00PM
See More »
January Graduate Virtual Q&A Sessions
Tuesday, Jan 14, 2020
10:00AM - 6:00PM
See More »
To Be Real
Friday, Jan 10, 2020 - Sunday, Feb 23, 2020
See More »
Exhibition Celebration: City Studio Fall 2019
Saturday, Dec 14, 2019
4:00PM - 5:30PM
See More »
December Undergraduate Virtual Q&A Sessions
Saturday, Dec 14, 2019
8:00AM - 3:00PM
See More »
December Graduate Virtual Q&A Sessions
Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019
10:00AM - 6:00PM
See More »
City Studio Fall 2019 Exhibition
Saturday, Dec 7, 2019 - Saturday, Dec 14, 2019
See More »
Flash Point
Friday, Dec 6, 2019 -
See More »
Opening Reception: Fall 2019 BFA Exhibition
Thursday, Dec 5, 2019
5:00PM - 8:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Flash Point
Thursday, Dec 5, 2019
5:00PM - 8:00PM
See More »
Fall 2019 BFA Exhibition
Tuesday, Dec 3, 2019 - Saturday, Dec 14, 2019
See More »
The Role of the Arts in the Tech of Tomorrow
Tuesday, Nov 26, 2019
7:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: A Room of Ones Own
Tuesday, Nov 26, 2019
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
A Room of Ones Own
Monday, Nov 25, 2019 - Friday, Nov 29, 2019
See More »
SFAI Graduate Preview Day
Saturday, Nov 23, 2019
10:00AM - 2:00PM
See More »
Everything is a Vibrator
Friday, Nov 22, 2019 - Friday, Nov 22, 2019
See More »
Closing Reception: Echo
Friday, Nov 22, 2019
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Closing Reception: . . .
Friday, Nov 22, 2019
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Miguel Calderón: On George Kuchar and Tropical Vultures
Thursday, Nov 21, 2019
6:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: White Walls - Black Joy
Tuesday, Nov 19, 2019
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
White Walls - Black Joy
Monday, Nov 18, 2019 - Saturday, Nov 23, 2019
See More »
El Surrealismo en México: Histories, Reflections, Engagements
Sunday, Nov 17, 2019
5:00PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Echo
Saturday, Nov 16, 2019 - Tuesday, Nov 26, 2019
See More »
Opening Reception: . . .
Saturday, Nov 16, 2019
12:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
SFAI Concentrate: Open Studios
Saturday, Nov 16, 2019 - Sunday, Nov 17, 2019
See More »
SFAI Concentrate: Film Screenings
Saturday, Nov 16, 2019 - Sunday, Nov 17, 2019
See More »
SFAI Concentrate: Student Art Sale
Saturday, Nov 16, 2019 - Sunday, Nov 17, 2019
See More »
. . .
Saturday, Nov 16, 2019 - Tuesday, Nov 26, 2019
See More »
November Undergraduate Virtual Q&A Sessions
Saturday, Nov 16, 2019
8:00AM - 3:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Postcommodity: The Point of Final Collapse
Friday, Nov 15, 2019
5:00PM - 8:00PM
See More »
Postcommodity: The Point of Final Collapse
Friday, Nov 15, 2019 -
See More »
Opening Reception: ECHOES: From There to Here
Thursday, Nov 14, 2019
5:00PM - 8:00PM
See More »
November Graduate Virtual Q&A Sessions
Tuesday, Nov 12, 2019
10:00AM - 6:00PM
See More »
Some New Voices
Monday, Nov 11, 2019 - Friday, Nov 15, 2019
See More »
ECHOES: From There to Here
Monday, Nov 11, 2019 - Sunday, Nov 24, 2019
See More »
Opening Reception: Another (Swell) Show
Thursday, Nov 7, 2019
6:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
Another (Swell) Show
Thursday, Nov 7, 2019 - Sunday, Dec 1, 2019
See More »
ANTITHETICAL
Monday, Nov 4, 2019 - Monday, Nov 11, 2019
See More »
Reception: From the Tower: Collecting Queer Histories
Friday, Nov 1, 2019
7:00PM - 8:00PM
See More »
Artistic, Colorful and Unconventional: A Visual Tour of SFAI’s Queer History
Friday, Nov 1, 2019
6:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: residue / cocoon
Friday, Nov 1, 2019
4:30PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Vitality and Vivacity
Friday, Nov 1, 2019
4:30PM
See More »
residue / cocoon
Friday, Nov 1, 2019 - Wednesday, Nov 13, 2019
See More »
Vitality and Vivacity
Friday, Nov 1, 2019 - Wednesday, Nov 13, 2019
See More »
Opening Reception: We Are Closing! Everything Must Go
Tuesday, Oct 29, 2019
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
We Are Closing! Everything Must Go
Monday, Oct 28, 2019 - Friday, Nov 1, 2019
See More »