sfai news

February 21, 2012

SFAI Film Department Chair Lynn Hershman Leeson to receive Women’s Caucus for Art Media Award

Lynn Hershman Leeson, Chair of SFAI’s Film department, has been selected to receive the first-ever Women’s Caucus for Art (WCA) Media Award. The award will be presented on February 23, 2012 in conjunction with WCA’s 40th Anniversary Celebration in Los Angeles, during the WCA and College Art Association conferences.

The WCA Media Award acknowledges women in the arts whose work has made a significant contribution to the advancement of women artists and feminist ideals. Hershman Leeson's most recent film, the documentary !Women, Art, Revolution (2011), traces 40 years of the Feminist Art Movement, exploring how pioneering women created politicized art that radically transformed both artistic institutions and the culture at large. It has screened to wide acclaim at the Venice Film Festival, Berlin International Film Festival, Toronto International Film Festival, San Francisco International Film Festival, and the Museum of Modern Art, New York. The film was also selected for the 2011 Sundance Film Festival’s New Frontier program, which celebrates the convergence of film, art, and new media technologies as a source for cinematic innovation.

Active since the 1960s, Hershman Leeson’s groundbreaking working across photography, video, film, performance, and interactive installations has focused on themes of technology, gender, and identity. She created the first interactive video art disc (Lorna, 1983-84); the first artwork to use a touch-screen interface (Deep Contact, 1984-86); and the first networked telerobotic sculpture (Difference Engine #3, 1995-98). Along with !Women Art Revolution, her films include Conceiving Ada (1997), Teknolust (2002), and Strange Culture (1997), all starring Tilda Swinton.

The Museum of Modern Art, New York recently purchased Hershman Leeson’s four films, along with 29 photographs from the Roberta Breitmore series. Other recent accomplishments include a 2011 nomination for the Freedom to Create Prize, the 2010 d.velop digital art award, the 2009 SIGGRAPH Lifetime Achievement Award, and a 2009 Guggenheim Fellowship. In 2004, Stanford University acquired her working archive.

Hershman Leeson has been Chair of the SFAI Film department since 2007.

The Women’s Caucus for Art
The Women's Caucus for Art was founded in 1972 in connection with the College Art Association (CAA). It is a national member organization unique in its multi-disciplinary, multicultural membership of artists, art historians, students, educators, and museum professionals. The mission of the Women’s Caucus for Art is to create community through art, education and social activism. http://www.nationalwca.org