sfai news

May 19, 2008

Josephine Taylor: SFAI’s 2008 Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellow

SFAI’s 2008 Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship has been awarded to SFAI alumna Josephine Taylor. A native of Colorado, Taylor studied religion and East Indian languages at the University of Colorado at Boulder, where she earned a BA. She then came to SFAI to study painting and took an MFA in 2003.

With a view to creating narrative drawings that examine the emotional and psychological residue of childhood and adolescence, Taylor characteristically uses diluted permanent ink washes on enormous sheets of paper and then opts to install her drawings unframed. Though her subject matter is intensely personal, and she renders it with a tender fragility, her large-scale works on paper tend to suspend any presuppositions of intimacy.

A recipient of the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art’s 2004 SECA Art Award and the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts’ Bay Area Now IV award in 2005, Taylor was also included in the 2004 California Biennial at the Orange County Museum of Art. She has work in the permanent collections of SFMOMA, the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, and the Museum of Modern Art in New York. Together with a number of group exhibitions, Taylor has had two solo exhibitions at Catherine Clark Gallery in San Francisco and a third is scheduled for January 2009. Taylor lives and works in San Francisco.

The Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship

The Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship was established in 1998 by the generosity of Richard Diebenkorn’s family. The $25,000 fellowship makes it possible for the contemporary artist to whom it is awarded both to teach at SFAI and to pursue studio work.

Providing studio space and housing at the Headlands Center for the Arts, the fellowship is dedicated to the memory of the distinguished and world-renowned painter Richard Diebenkorn. In January 1946, Diebenkorn enrolled at the California School of Fine Arts (CSFA, now SFAI) as a student; in September of that same year, he was awarded the school’s Albert Bender Grant. The grant allowed him to travel and work independently for one year. After spending a year in New York, Diebenkorn returned to CSFA and was offered his first teaching appointment: he taught through 1949 and again from 1959 to 1966. Founded in order to honor his legacy as an instructor, the Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship is intended to provide its recipient with an opportunity similar to that enjoyed by Diebenkorn himself when he won the Bender Grant.

Past recipients of the fellowship are Brad Brown (Spring 1999), Polly Apfelbaum (Spring 2000), Nereida Garcia-Ferraz (Spring 2001), Monica Majoli (Fall 2001), Fred Hayes (Fall 2002), Whitfield Lovell (Fall 2003), Darren Waterston (Fall 2004), Brett Cook (Fall 2005), Shaun O’Dell (Fall 2006), and Iona Rozeal Brown (Fall 2007). The fellowship is awarded, in alternate years, to Bay Area–only and then to national (excluding Bay Area) artists.