Diego Rivera Gallery

GOLDEN STATES

GOLDEN STATES
Mon, 10/07/2013 - 09:00 - Sat, 10/12/2013 - 17:00
Free and open to the public

Opening Reception: Tuesday, October 8, 5-7 pm
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Tue, 09/24/2013 - 15:19

GOLDEN STATES is the use of  different media to talk about place as not merely a location, but as a marker to deconstruct and reassemble the borders inherent in observing place by means of the questions: where is home, where do you live, and where are you from. 

The Sand Reckoner

The Sand Reckoner
Mon, 09/30/2013 - 09:00 - Sat, 10/05/2013 - 17:00
Free and open to the public

Opening Reception: Tuesday, October 1, 5–7 pm
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 10/05/2013 - 17:00

The Sand Reckoner

The show, inspired by The Sand Reckoner Archimedes' hypothetical project to calculate the size of the universe; explores the relation between time and space.

 

Francisco Pinheiro, Marshall Elliott, Javier Arbizu, Thomas Maury

The Implications of Suggestion

The Implications of Suggestion
Mon, 09/02/2013 - 09:00 - Sat, 09/07/2013 - 17:00
Opening reception: Tuesday, September 3 | 5 - 7 pm
FREE & OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 09/07/2013 - 17:00

The Implications of Suggestion, featuring work by Chris Grunder, Mariel Bayona, and Tom Van Houten, investigates the ways technology and taste afford current sculptural practice the possibility of employing action, interaction, automation, and animation to entrance and entertain viewers.

Continuing MFA Show

Continuing MFA Show
Mon, 08/26/2013 - 09:00 - Sat, 08/31/2013 - 17:00
Opening reception: Tuesday, August 27 | 5 - 7 pm
FREE & OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 08/31/2013 - 17:00

About the Student Exhibition
Each year the co-directors of the Diego Rivera Gallery curate a survey exhibition of continuing MFA students as a way to kick off the fall semester and to introduce incoming students to their work. This year's exhibition features the work of 27 continuing MFA students.

Black, White and Read All Over

Black, White and Read All Over
Mon, 08/12/2013 - 09:00 - Sat, 08/24/2013 - 17:00
Opening Reception: Tuesday, August 20 5-7pm
Free and open to the public
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Fri, 08/23/2013 - 18:00

About the Student Exhibition

All words are abstract symbols, images that we infuse with meaning. But what does it look like when the boundaries between word and image begin to blur? Word buried in image, image obscured by word.

As We Are Now

As We Are Now
Mon, 08/12/2013 - 09:00 - Sat, 08/17/2013 - 17:00
Opening reception: Tuesday, August 13, 5 - 7 pm Free and open to the public
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA

As We Are Now is an audio-visual exploration of the construction of home and self by artists Carly Cram, Dominic Garcia, Madison Voelkel, and Rachel Fein Smolinski.

Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 08/17/2013 - 17:00

As We Are Now is an audio-visual exploration of the construction of home and self by artists Carly Cram, Dominic Garcia, Madison Voelkel, and Rachel Fein Smolinski.

Sirens

Sirens
Mon, 07/22/2013 - 09:00 - Sat, 07/27/2013 - 17:00
Opening reception: Tuesday, July 23, 5 - 7 pm Free and open to the public
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 07/27/2013 - 17:00

The Diego Gallery is proud to present a new collaborative installation by Dimitra Skandali and Tom Loughlin. 

Outside [The] Lines

Outside [The] Lines
Mon, 07/15/2013 - 21:00 - Fri, 07/19/2013 - 17:00
Closing reception: Friday, July 19 4:30 - 6:30 pm Free and open to the public
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Fri, 07/19/2013 - 17:00

Join us for a campus-wide exhibition showcasing PreCollege student artwork made during the five-week, six-college credit program.

Measured Bodies

Measured Bodies
Mon, 07/01/2013 - 09:00 - Sat, 07/06/2013 - 17:00
Opening reception: Tuesday, July 2, 5-7 pm, Free and open to the public
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 07/06/2013 - 17:00

In Measured Bodies, artists Raquel Torres Arzola, Bari Fleischer, Katie Harwood, Anna Rose, and Christie Ginanni Stepan display works that establish notions of the body as a device of time, location, and cultural identity.

Invisible Merkin: Discretion and Ostentation

Invisible Merkin: Discretion and Ostentation
Mon, 06/17/2013 - Sat, 06/22/2013
Opening reception: Tuesday, June 18, 5 - 7 pm. Free and open to the public
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 06/22/2013 - 17:20

Relative to the duality presented in Gustave Courbet's work L'Origine du Monde (The Origin of the World), Invisible Merkin: Discretion and Ostentation presents the flirtation between the literal and coded: figure vs. landscape. 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Diego Rivera Gallery