Diego Rivera Gallery

Gold Rush

Gold Rush
Sun, 07/13/2014 - Sat, 07/19/2014

Opening Reception » Tuesday, July 15 | 5–7 pm
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 07/19/2014 - 19:41

Today, startups are emerging left and right, and San Francisco is becoming one of the wealthiest cities in the country. Gold Rush looks at the ways in which glamor, extravagance, cash, and desire converge.

Picture a Change

Picture a Change
Sun, 06/08/2014 - Fri, 06/20/2014
Free and open to the public
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 06/14/2014 - 17:00

Started by a coalition of students from SFAI and other Bay Area colleges, the Picture a Change project introduces the art of photography and capturing viewpoints to youth living in Brazil's hillside slums, or favelas.

Inexorable: Spring 2014 Public Education Exhibition

Inexorable: Spring 2014 Public Education Exhibition
Mon, 06/02/2014 - Sat, 06/07/2014

Closing Reception » Saturday, June 7 | 4–6 pm
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 06/07/2014 - 17:00

Created during the Spring 2014 semester by students in Public Education courses, the varied works in Inexorable explore the elapsing of time through still moments that illustrate the inevitable decay and future equilibrium of existence.

Got Drawing If You Want It

Got Drawing If You Want It
Sun, 05/04/2014 - Sat, 05/10/2014
Reception » Tuesday, May 6 | 5–7 pm
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Fri, 05/09/2014 - 17:50

Keith Boadwee's Conceptual Drawing students present more than 140 new pieces drawn over the course of the Spring 2014 semester.

RE-

RE-
Mon, 04/28/2014 - Sat, 05/03/2014
Reception » Tuesday, April 29 | 5–7 pm
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 05/03/2014 - 17:09

Playing with different verbs preceded by re—re-experience, reanimate, reencounter, re-envision, rediscover, reform, represent, reprocess—Erik Beltran, Carolin Rechberg, and Tim Kopra challenge perceptions of the work of art, the role of the artist, and the very language we use to talk about them.

Time/Space

Time/Space
Mon, 04/14/2014 - Fri, 04/18/2014
Reception » Tuesday, April 15 | 5–7 pm
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Fri, 04/18/2014 - 17:00

Time/Space is a rotating exhibit featuring the work of nine SFAI graduate students. Each student’s work will be isolated in space or in time within the bounds of the week-long show, allowing focus on individual pieces and artists.

RED EIGHT: New Paintings by Howard Friedman

RED EIGHT: New Paintings by Howard Friedman
Mon, 04/21/2014 - Sat, 04/26/2014
Reception » Tuesday, April 22 | 5–7 pm
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 04/26/2014 - 17:00
The Diego Rivera Gallery is proud to present "RED EIGHT: New Paintings", the first exhibition of works by emerging artist and long time North Beach resident, Howard Friedman
 
Curated by Benjamin Ashlock, Diego Villalobos and Agnes Widbom

You Who Read Me: Are You Sure of Understanding My Language?

You Who Read Me: Are You Sure of Understanding My Language?
Mon, 04/07/2014 - Sat, 04/12/2014
Reception » Tuesday, April 8 | 5–7 pm
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 04/12/2014 - 17:00

The Diego Rivera Gallery is pleased to present the work of: Alice Combs, Mike Callaghan, Chris Grunder and Aubrey Rotino in You who read me: are you sure of understanding my language?” 

Memory Overflow

Memory Overflow
Mon, 03/31/2014 - Sat, 04/05/2014
Reception » Tuesday, April 1 | 5–7 pm
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sat, 04/05/2014 - 17:00

Artists C. Franco Maldonado, David Lasley, and Shay Arick come together to offer reinterpretations of historical events. Powerful figures such as Napoleon Bonaparte, Fidel Castro, Adolph Hitler, and John F. Kennedy will be portrayed, deconstructed, and demythologized through multimedia installation, large-scale painting, and video. 

A Vibrant Fusion of Art and Life

A Vibrant Fusion of Art and Life
Mon, 03/24/2014 - Sat, 03/29/2014
Reception » Wednesday, March 26 | 5–7 pm
San Francisco Art Institute
800 Chestnut Street
San Francisco,
CA
Home Page Expiration: 
Sun, 03/30/2014 - 17:00

When Printmaking Revisits the Murals of the Mission Lands

Artists:

Irene Carvajal, Rika Laser, Monika Lukowska, Ann-Marie Cunningham, Juan Gerardo Solis Cruz, Golbanou Moghaddas, Anastasia Fagan, Nicholas Robins, Daniel Gonzalez-Zarzuela, Amanda Shield, Dianna Settles, Trever Reyes, Carlos Rodriguez, Sarah Tell, David Tim, Drew Grasso, Ozlem Ayze Ozgur, Maxx Newman, Wesley Larios, Justine Rivas, Jonathan Asega, Anna Yamamoto

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Diego Rivera Gallery